Execution Hedgehog is Back

It’s true. I’ve been in Berlin for almost three days now, and even though I felt like I was falling apart on my first day, things are going great so far.

Here’s an update on what’s been happening in my life up to now:

-I finished college. Yippee.

-I took a break from school and worked full time. I like where I worked, but I really don’t feel like doing data entry until I die. Also, there’s apparently not much you can do in the Southwest with a degree in German and no relevant job experience. I mean, writing all those papers gave me a good typing speed, which is why I got the data entry job, but it wasn’t exactly what I was picturing when I took out all those student loans.

-I have a boyfriend. We met last year volunteering at a comic convention and it’s been rainbows and unicorns and purple Zakus ever since. Sieg Zeon.

Mr. Purple Checkpoint Charlie

So what am I doing here? For the next month, I’ll be getting certified to teach English as a foreign language, but after that, who knows? Maybe I’ll find a job as an English teacher, maybe I’ll work as a freelance translator, maybe someone will pay me to walk their dog, or maybe I’ll be a prostitute until I pay off my student loans.

I have no idea what’s going to happen, is what I’m saying.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Execution Hedgehog is Back

  1. Troy Powell says:

    It’s amazing to hear that you’re doing so well. I always figured you would get back out abroad. Degrees in linguistics do that sort of thing. I just met a linguistic missionary the other day who translates the Bible into the native languages of Nigeria. Enjoy Berlin!!! My favorite thing to do there is grab a backpack full of beer and go drink in the lawn in front of the Berliner Dom in the evening. I highly suggest that you try it if you haven’t already! Just stay away from the Reeperbahn if you go to Hamburg.

    -Troy

Leave a Reply

